

### **MEDIA RELEASE**

## sportingbet

12th January 2014

# Veyron Bale strikes in Sportingbet Paws of Thunder

### By Ellen Dwyer GBOTA Business Development Manager

With the class of sprinters on display and a lightning fast track we were in for one hell of a night of racing, and it was NSW sweetheart, Double Twist, which started proceedings, winning heat one in 29.56 over Evil Punk and Not Telling Ya.

.

Likeable NSW trainer, Syd Swain claimed the second qualifier with Manyana Groper returning over \$40 for connections, while heat three went the way of a Victorian National Time in an all the way performance.

Race six was built with plenty of anticipation, with the appearance of Black Magic Opal. It was Veyron Bale for the Dailly kennel which upset the party posting best of the night figures of 29.50.

Tasmanian Buckle Up Wes continued his strong run of Wentworth Park form, winning race 7, ahead of Gradence and Spud Regis.

Robert Britton continued his good night out with Iona Seven winning heat six, touted as the toughest event of the night, ahead of 520m track record holder Punch One Out and Xylia Allen.

Box one specialist Allen Malik claimed the penultimate event, while up and comer Boyce Road claimed the final event, continuing his run of form for trainer Mark Gatt.

Saturday's \$100,000 to the winner final will also be supported by the running of Paws of Thunder consolation, the SportingBet Summer Plate over 720 and The Collerson, in honour of long standing greyhound journalist Jeff Collerson.

Continued on Page 2...

## AUSTRALIAN EREVHOUND RACINE ASSOCIATION

### GROUP ONE - Sportingbet Paws Of Thunder \$100,000 to the winner

\$100,000 to the winner Group 1 Sportingbet Paws of Thunder				
Box	Greyhound	Trainer	Price	H/T
	Veyron Bale	Andrea Dailly(VIC)	\$3.50	29.50
2	Manyana Groper	Syd Swain	\$26	29.91
3	Double Twist	Garry Edwards	\$2.50	29.56
4	Buckle Up Wes	Ted Medhurst (TAS)	\$10	29.65
5	Allen Malik	Steve Collins (VIC)	\$12	29.91
6	Iona Seven	<b>Robert Britton (VIC)</b>	\$6	29.62
7	National Time	Darren Brown (VIC)	\$33	30.31
8	Boyce Road	Matt Gatt	\$7	29.69
()9/)~	Punch One Out (RES)	Jason Mackay	RES	
10	Peter Rocket (RES)	Keith Hellmuth(VIC)	RES	

Box Draw and local Market for the Sportingbet Paws of Thunder 520:

Local expert's selections for the Sportingbet Paws of Thunder final are as follows.

<u>Adam Dobbin</u> 1<sup>st</sup> Double Twist 2<sup>nd</sup> Iona Seven 3<sup>rd</sup> National Time

<u>Ron Arnold</u> 1<sup>st</sup> Double Twist 2<sup>nd</sup> Buckle Up Wes 3<sup>rd</sup> Veyron Bale <u>Gerard Guthrie</u> 1<sup>st</sup> Double Twist 2<sup>nd</sup> Veyron Bale 3<sup>rd</sup> Boyce Road

### What's happening on race night?

Gates open at 5.30pm for Saturday's meeting. NSW GBOTA Members are reminded that on presentation of a valid membership card at the Wentworth Park Rd entrance, entry will be granted to members and a friend. It is the perfect reason to get trackside and witness two great feature finals.



#### **Catering & Bar**

Wentworth Park provides diverse choices within the venue. There is the snack bar on the ground floor and there are take away stalls on the concourse leading from the grandstand. There are fully licensed bars on the ground floor. The Bistro on the lower ground floor provides patrons the opportunity to order from an extensive menu, with meals cooked to order, and delivered to your table, with Bar facilities in the Bistro.

The 2014 'Collerson' conducted in recognition of Daily Telegraph Journalist Jeff Collerson's contribution to the Greyhound Industry is also on the great race card this Saturday night.

Listed below are the past winners of Paws Of Thunder which was formerly known as the St.Leger and first run in 1957. The NSW NCA restructured the prizemoney and the race name in 2001.

1957 Idle Sign, 1958 Ebony Minda, 1959 Super Samson, 1960 Constant Raider, 1961 Elsie Moss, 1962 Black Top, 1963 Miss Warcroft, 1964 Revival King, 1965 Daily Tide, 1966 Sunset Fire, 1967 Another Glitter, 1968 Zoom Top, 1969 Beau Brin, 1970 Size Seven, 1971 Romantic Top, 1972 Likely Light, 1973 Trella Light, 1974 Busy's Chief, 1975 Mighty Aussie, 1976 Palaver, 1977 Fine Arama, 1978 Oberon Lily, 1979 Lord Raleigh, 1980 Glider's Son, 1981 Promises Free, 1982 Winifred Bale, 1983 Winston Lass, 1984 Beach Rhythm 1985 Another Flash, 1986 Memories Gate, 1987 See Yah, 1988 Grizzly Bear, 1989 Jessica Kate, 1990 Dixie Lass, 1991 Little Denver, 1992 Iago, 1993 Leon Mal, 1994 Zazziam, 1995 Nine Inch Nails, 1996 Tamborine Dancer, 1997 Elle's Commando, 1998 Waiwera Marika, 1999 Stately Bird, 2000 Some Secret, 2001 Suellen Bale, 2002 Modern Assassin, 2003 Winsome Shot, 2004 Kobble Rock 2005 Pure Octane 2006 Suave Fella, 2007 Leprechaun Pace, 2008 One Tree Hill, 2009 Cindeen Shelby, 2010 Lochinvar Marlow, 2011 Fancy Will and 2013 Sheikha.

#### For any further information contact NSW GBOTA Ellen Dwyer: (02) 8587 1210.

For more information please contact: Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au

Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838